While it’s true that Mimi and I wrote Beautiful Monster with an indeterminate ending, I’m not sure either of us had a sequel in mind, let alone that the storyline would evolve into a trilogy, but God help us, that’s the current plan.

Really this is my fault. It started with a dream I had one night several weeks ago ~ cheesy though that may be. I dreamed that she and I were talking, and she kept making references to “The Beautiful Books.” I even heard each of the titles: “Beautiful Monster,” “Beautiful Liar,” and “Beautiful Damnation.” When I woke up, I didn’t think of this as anything worth giving much thought to, but through a conversation with someone else that I had later in the day, it occurred me that maybe I should approach Mimi with the topic. I knew before I brought it up to her that it wasn’t something I wanted to try and sell her on…  I wasn’t entirely sold on the idea myself. I just wanted to make casual mention of the dream and let her response to it decide whether or not this was worthy of pursuit.

Her response was, “Omigod, we should!” or something along those lines. She started throwing out possible ideas then, and as soon as she told me her vision for the ultimate ending in Beautiful Damnation, I was well-invested. We talked about it in sporadic bursts through e-mail and texts for the next few days, but it wasn’t until we headed to Iowa for the 2012 Iowa Writer’s Conference that we really started mapping the second story out. So, between workshops, lectures, our downtime during the conference, and our travel-time, Mimi and I wrote a chapter by chapter synopsis of the story, and were able to get all but the last two chapters mapped out. Things often evolve in unexpected ways as the story is being written (which is why I don’t usually do real detailed outlines), so I’m interested to see what will end up in the final draft.

My vision for Beautiful Liar is a bit different from its prequel. In this one, I want to take Sterling (my character) out of his element entirely. I want to take everything away from him. I want to see how far he’s willing to go to get what he wants: Brenna (Mimi’s character). And… I want him to suffer ~ not only for the horrible things he did in Beautiful Monster, but also for the horrendous plans he has in the sequel. I don’t plan to give him a single moment of peace this time. He is the bad guy, after all. So, without giving anything away, the plan this time around is to see what he’s really made of, and I’m curious to find out.

We realize we’re getting ahead of ourselves. We barely got a contract signed on the first book and plenty could still go wrong with that ~ unfortunately, it happens ~ so to assume the publisher will be interested in a second (let alone a third) book may seem a little overconfident. Luckily, that’s not why we’re doing it. I know that I want to do this for a few reasons. One, I am not done with Sterling Bronson and I want to see what else he has up his imported-silk sleeves. Second, I want resolution; not only for Sterling, but for Brenna as well. Third, I am in love with this story and really want to see its ultimate ending… and four, I work well with Mimi and am looking forward to doing another project with her. If a publisher never looks at it twice, then it will have been good practice and good times, and really, that’s what this is all about anyway. I admit that I’m not real eager to get back to world through Sterling’s bloodthirsty, crazy eyes, but why not make the most of the opportunity that we’ve been given?

And so it begins. Again. Wish us luck!

Comments
  1. Linda L. Bennett says:

    The very best of luck to you both!!! 🙂

  2. Kim Justesen says:

    The thing is, my friend, you and I are so much alike that we would be writing together like this indefinitely just because we both know we will laugh until we snort! We have a synergy that I think is unique among our kind, and I am both mystified and delighted by it. If I could find a way to turn this into a series of endless adventures, I would do it, but as it stands, I think a trio of this duo is singularly awesome!

Leave a Reply

