Hello, and happy Halloween!

Today was the last day to participate in the “Name That Serial Killer” contest that my co-author, Mimi A. Williams and I hosted for a chance to win a signed copy of Beautiful Monster. I’m thrilled by the amount of people who participated and surprised by how well everyone did! There is a definite winner which we will announce on our Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/beautifuldamnation?ref=hl) within the next few days, but with so many people doing such a great job, we’ve decided to give out some books to the runners-up as well. Thank you to everyone who participated. You guys rock.

The proof copy of my dear friend Patricia Scanlan’s upcoming novel, With All My Love, arrived in the mail last weekend. Patricia mailed me the book several months before its official release as a token of appreciation, and I couldn’t be more flattered or more honored by the gesture. I haven’t had a chance to get into it yet, but I’m stoked about being the first person in the United States to read it, so I can’t put it off much longer! With All My Love will be released on Mother’s Day (March in Ireland, May in the U.S.) and along with it, I’ll be posting an interview I did with her several months back. As soon as I get the go-ahead, I’ll also post some pictures of the book.

The past weeks have been busy with critiquing, reviewing, and proof reading that I’ve been doing for a few of my writer friends, and I’m making good headway on the project formerly known as The White Room. I finished chapter ten last week and am still hopeful I can have it finished by (or shortly after) the end of 2012. I’d hoped the re-writes wouldn’t be too heavy, but in truth, I’m re-writing the entire book, so it’s going to be a few more months before it’s ready to be submitted.

The good news is, I’m finding ways of being more efficient. I’ve learned that if I do my writing in the mornings, the critiquing and proofing for other folks in the evenings, and spend a few hours working on Saturday, I can take Sundays off…which is becoming more important to me as I get busier and busier. Also, I have officially employed a research assistant who is currently investigating blood types and vampire lore…and taking a lot off my shoulders!

Busy as it’s been, I love it. This is what I’ve always wanted, and I’m happy to say that all the hard work of writing (and it is hard work!) is well worth it.

I hope you have a fun and safe Halloween. I plan to hole up in bed with The Haunting of Hill House!  

On a final Halloween-related note, the San Gabriel Valley Tribune in California did an interview with my good friend Tamara Thorne. It’s always interesting to get a look at the minds behind the stories. Check out Tamara’s interview at: http://www.sgvtribune.com/living/ci_21877136/celebrated-horror-novelist-tamara-thorne-finds-inspiration-close

Comments
  1. Linda L. Bennett says:

    I am so happy to have you as a friend of mine. Keep up the great work but don’t work yourself sick.

Leave a Reply

