November 2, 2012

Posted: November 2, 2012 in Writing

Dear Readers,

My writing goals have fallen short this week. I could blame Halloween, but the truth is, I’ve just been slacking, choosing to stay in bed that extra hour (or two) instead of getting up and writing. My goals are simple: write three pages a day, or work on revisions for two hours (or if I’m really not in the mood to deal with the story at hand, I can spend two hours working on an outline for a future project.) Either way,  two hours of my day (or three pages, whichever comes first), every day, is devoted to writing…or at least, it should be.

To atone for my sins, I’m pulling an all-dayer tomorrow (an all-dayer is like an all-nighter… but in the day.) I’ll get up at about 9:00 and write till I can’t write anymore. I have a dinner engagement at 7:00 pm, but I will need a break by then anyway. I like doing this sometimes. I have to be careful to take breaks though, because after a few hours, my storyline starts heading in strange directions, from burn-out, I assume.

Cool news – last night, as I browsed the internet (when I should have been reading!) I realized I have an author page on Goodreads.com. This is news to me, because I’d tried to set one up, couldn’t figure it out, and then gave up. I hadn’t checked Goodreads for a while, but last night when I did, there it was: my own author page. I don’t know how it got there, but it’s there 🙂 Check me out at: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6517308.Jared_S_Anderson

Also, this week we will be announcing the winner of the Name That Serial Killer contest on Facebook. You can check me out there at: http://www.facebook.com/beautifuldamnation?ref=hl

I hope your weekend is a good one!

Just for fun, here is a picture of my poodle, Sven, reading (and loving) “Bad Things” by Tamara Thorne. He is blind, but he doesn’t know that. He also doesn’t have any thumbs, so turning the pages is impossible…but again, he doesn’t know that, and we don’t tell him…

Comments
  1. kwjwrites says:

    Oh how I miss Sven! And you haven’t let him read Beautiful Monster, have you? He’d have nightmares!

  2. Linda L. Bennett says:

    I did say not to work yourself sick, I didn’t say work yourself into a coma. LOL! Love the picture of Sven. HAHAHA! Have a great weekend too!

Leave a Reply

