During the first quarter of a book’s release, it stands to reason that family and friends will account for the majority of sales. Knowing that my loved ones had already procured their copies of Beautiful Monster, I’ve been especially eager ~ and a little nervous ~ about this quarter’s statistics since I figured it would more accurately reveal how interested the general public really is.

Well, tonight, I received that long-awaited December 1st through February 28th royalty report from my publisher… and I couldn’t be happier. Beautiful Monster has more than doubled its sales since last quarter 🙂

Between book signings, interviews, social media sites, and various other activities, we do a lot to market our books, but whether or not they succeed is ultimately up to the readers. I realize book sales wax and wane ~ and I’m told they drop significantly during summer months when people are outdoors doing more active things ~ but while the going’s good, I can’t help but be a little excited. So thank you to all the readers. The road to publication is a tough one, but you’ve all made it worth it. And thank you to Damnation Books, for giving me the chance.

I haven’t had much time to blog these past weeks ~ I think this is only my second post this month ~ but be sure to come back in a few days for another installment of “Serial Chat” with horror novelist Tamara Thorne, where we will be discussing the rituals of writing…

Comments
  1. Linda L. Bennett says:

    Congratulations!!! You derserve it with all the hard work you and Mimi did. Continued success!!! 😀 😀

  2. Anonymous says:

    Many publishers pay royalties only twice a year, and the waiting in between can sometimes be unbearable. We are lucky that Damnation moves a little more quickly, and it is nice to see our efforts rewarded by the support of new readers.

  3. Linda Anderson says:

    YAYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!! Congratulations!!! You deserve it, so proud of you!!

  4. Jeny Woo says:

    That’s great, Jared! Summer is a great reading time – wish we could think of a way to get ebook reader people to download you and T for their summer beach reads.
    I am looking forward to more TWR.

Leave a Reply

