What Makes You Read?

Posted: May 5, 2013 in Books, Fiction, Words, Writing
Tags: , , , ,

book1

There are many things that determine what we want to read–and what we don’t want to read. Sometimes, a book comes highly recommended by a good friend or a family member. Sometimes, we’ve read other books by the same author and feel that picking up a new one is a pretty safe bet. Sometimes, we just like the looks of a book.

They say to never judge a book by its cover… but that’s exactly what I do. It’s a series of steps for me, really. First, when I see a cover that catches my eye, I pick it up. The next thing I do is read the back of the book. If the synopsis on the back hooks me, I open it to the first page of the first chapter–or prologue– and read. If I like that first paragraph, I buy the book.

What are your deciding factors when it comes to buying books? What makes you want to read a book?

Comments
  1. Oh yeah, cover. I won’t pick it up if it has a crappy cover. Say what you like. But the need to find a character that makes me part of their world. THAT is what keeps me reading.

    –Julie

  2. Linda L. Bennett says:

    Actually all of the above!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Cover, page one, recommendations – those are the top three.

Leave a Reply

